Removing people from your following list
Sometimes the following list gets a little unwieldy. Luckily it's as easy to UN-follow someone as it is to follow them. Removing someone from your following list means that you'll no longer receive their updates on the web or on your phone. To trim down your list, visit your following page to stop following more than one person at a time. Remove a specific person by using the follow drop down box on their profile page.
Although you can't stop following someone's web updates from your phone, you can stop getting their updates via text message by sending LEAVE username, or OFF username, from your phone, like so:
• off candice
• leave candice
Even if you stop getting someone's device updates, you'll still see their updates on the web. Before you remove a person, remember that you don't have to stop following people who reply to much or send too many updates for your text plan. You can change your reply settings to filter out unwanted replies, and your device settings per person if you don't want to receive text updates from everyone.
Blocking people on Twitter
Blocking someone instead of removing them means that not only do you not want to follow them, but you want to deny them the ability to follow or reply to you. Blocking is done from actions section in the person's profile sidebar.
Blocking someone means that you (and your pic) will not appear on the blocked party's profile page, friends time line, badge, or anywhere else. The person will not be notified that they've been blocked, and they will be unable to follow you. If your account is public, the blocked party can still view your profile page, but can't receive your updates in their timeline or on their phone.
1. Log in to Twitter.
2. Go to the profile page of the person you wish to block.
3. Click Block (under actions panel in the sidebar)
4. Click OKAY to confirm the block
Voila! What's done is done.
Is it irreversible? No. If you change your mind, you can easily unblock a person by following the same steps. The link, of course, will read unblock, instead of block.
If you still have questions, submit a request to our Support team.
If you have a Twitter account, send a request here.
If not, email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.